31st ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF THE MULTINATIONAL FINANCE SOCIETY

June 29 – July 2, 2025, Crete, Greece

Paper Submission Deadline: January 12, 2025



Multinational Finance Society: A non-profit organization established in 1995 for the advancement and dissemination of financial knowledge and research findings pertaining to industrialized and developing countries among members of the academic and business communities.

Venue

Minoa Palace Resort

Platanias 730 14 Crete, Greece <u>minoapalace.gr</u>

Keynote Speakers

Geert Bekaert, Columbia University, USA

Program Chairs

Christos Floros – Hellenic Mediterranean University, Greece Kyriaki – Aristotle's University of Thessaloniki, Greece Demetris Kousenidis – Aristotle's University of Thessaloniki, Greece Christos Negakis – University of Makedonia, Greece Panayiotis Theodossiou – Ball State University, USA

Sponsoring Institutions

Aristotle's University of Thessaloniki, Greece Ball State University, USA Hellenic Mediterranean University, Greece University of Makedonia, Greece

Conference Objective

The objective of the conference is to bring together researchers, educators, doctoral students, and practitioners from various international institutions to focus on timely financial issues and research findings pertaining to industrialized and developing countries including the recent financial crisis.

Areas of Interest

Papers in all areas of finance, accounting and economics dealing with developed and developing countries are welcome. Specific topics include, but are not limited to: Asset Pricing; Banking; Behavioral Finance; Buyouts; Capital Structure; CDS; Commodities; Contagion in Financial Markets; Corporate Governance; Corporate Restructuring; Cost of Bankruptcy; Credit Scoring Models; Cross Listing; Derivatives; Emerging Markets; Entrepreneurial and Start-up Financing; Environmental Finance; Executive Compensation; Financial Accounting; Financial Analysis; Financial Reporting; FinTech; FX Arbitrage; Investment Banking; IPOs; M&As; Macro Finance; Market Efficiency; Market Microstructure; Pay-out Policy; Portfolio Management; Real Options; Regulation; Risk Measurement; Scale-up Financing; Shipping Finance; Term Structure of Interest Rates; Trading Behavior; Valuation; and Volatility.

Doctoral Student Tutorials and Presentations

The Multinational Finance Society is offering special tutorial lectures for advanced finance doctoral students working on their dissertations. Following the lectures participating students will have the opportunity to discuss their research with our feature speakers and other senior members. Financial support will be provided to a limited number of registered doctoral students not sponsored by their institutions.

Paper and Thesis Submission Guidelines

Please visit our website at <u>http://www.mfsociety.org</u> to submit your completed or nearly completed paper or a dissertation proposal (PDF format) by January 12, 2025. The cover page should include the affiliation, address, and email of each author. Each participant agrees to serve as a discussant of a paper of his/her own area of interest, if needed. Please include whether you would like your paper to be considered for any of the awards mentioned below. Only completed papers qualify for any of the awards.

Paper Awards

Best Paper Award (prize US \$750.00 - Open to all papers presented at the conference) Best Doctoral Paper Award (prize US \$500 - Open to all thesis papers presented at the conference) Papers registered after April 15th, 2024 cannot be considered for the awards.

Registration Fee

Early registrations fee by March 5, 2024 is US \$450.00 and by April 15, 2024 is US \$550. Registration fee after April 15, 2024 is 20% extra (US \$660). For doctoral students and accompanying people, discounts of 25% and 50% apply, respectively. Registered participants can attend all social functions, wherever applicable. The registration fee may include Sunday's tour of archeological sites, gala dinner, reception, two lunches and four coffee breaks on the days of the conference.

Further Information

Information regarding the conference, accommodation, feature speakers, travel arrangements, fees and other activities will be published on the MFS website as needed. Information about past conferences can be found on the website as well.

Scientific Committee

Renée Adams - University of Oxford, UK Andreas Andrikopoulos - University of Piraeus, Greece Hakan Aygoren - Pamukkale University, Turkey Luis Berggrun - CESA Business School, Colombia Wolfgang Bessler - University of Hamburg, Germany Jorge Brusa - Texas A&M International University, USA Jeffrey Callen - University of Toronto, Canada Shu Ling Chiang - National Kaohsiung Normal University, Taiwan Alain Coen - University of Quebec in Montreal, Canada George Constantinides – University of Chicago, USA Aurelie Desfleurs - Université de Sherbrooke, Canada Jerome Detemple - Boston University, USA Shuh-Chyi Doong - National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan Anupam Dutta – University of Vaasa, Finland Chanaka Edirisinghe - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA David Feldman - UNSW Sydney, Australia Stephen Ferris – University of North Texas, USA Marta Gómez-Puig - Universitat de Barcelona, Spain John Hall - University of Pretoria, South Africa Daniel Havran - Corvinus University of Budapest, Hungary Reza Houston - Ball State University, USA Abu Jalal - Suffolk University, USA Edward Jones - Heriot-Watt University, UK Olga Kandinskaia - University of Limassol, Cyprus Iordanis Karayiannides – The Cidatel, USA Edward Lawrence - Florida International University, USA Yun-Chi Lee - Soochow University, Taiwan George Leledakis - Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece Hong-Jen Lin - Brooklyn College, USA Benjamin Maury - Hanken School of Economics, Finland Minna Martikainen – University of Vaasa, Finland Amin Mawani - York University, Canada Austin Murphy - Oakland University, USA Silvia Muzzioli – University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy Puneet Prakash - Missouri State University, USA Leszek Preisner - PWSZ Krosno, Poland David Rakowski - UT Arlington, USA Janicke Rasmussen - BI Norwegian Business School, Norway Jairo Rendon - Pontificia Universidad Javeriana, Colombia Paul Ryan - University College Dublin, Ireland Wendy Rotenberg - University of Toronto, Canada Jesus Salas - Lehigh University, USA Kashif Saleem - University of Wollongong in Dubai, United Arab Emirates Yeh Shih-Kuo - National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan

Miriam Sosa Castro - Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana-Iztapalapa, Mexico Simon Sosvilla-Rivero - Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain Zhenzhen Sun - University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, USA Lorne Switzer - Concordia University, Canada George Tannous - University of Saskatchewan, Canada Ming Shann Tsai - National University of Kaohsiung, Taiwan Sami Vähämaa - University of Vaasa, Finland Mika Vaihekoski - University of Turku, Finland Andrew Vivian - Loughborough University, UK Milos Vulanovic - EDHEC Business School, France Uwe Walz - Goethe University of Frankfurt, Germany Gabrielle Wanzenried - Univiversity of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland HES-SO, Switzerland Yu-Chen Wei - National Kaohsiung University of Science and Technology, Taiwan Joakim Westerholm - University of Sydney, Australia Ania Zalewska - Leicester University Business School, UK

Local Organizing Committee

Ioannis Chatziantoniou - Hellenic Mediterranean University Anestis Ladas - University of Macedonia, Greece Panagiotis Tachinakis - University of Macedonia, Greece Eftalia Tabouratzi - Hellenic Mediterranean University Dimitrios Vortelinos - Hellenic Mediterranean University